My am enigma and I was born in Ashford, Kent England way back in 1950. While I missed world war two, I certainly saw plenty evidence of it! My playgrounds were the bomb sites and air raid shelters left behind. And there were what we kids used to call “Tank stops.” They were like little flat topped pyramids,made of concrete they dotted the countryside. Never did know what they really were. The air raid shelters were dank, gloomy places. It must have been terrible to sit in them while the German bombers tried to flatten the town. A lot of Europe was little more than a pile of rubble by the end of the war.




My first school, the Newtown primary school was anything but new! In fact it was well over a hundred years old,. The playground was asphalt and enclosed by a high brick wall. On the other side of the wall was the railway line. If a ball happened to go over the wall it was never seen again.

The village green was a fun place though and all us kids used it to the full! There was a farm close by and a friend and I used to make a bit of pocket money by collecting food scraps around the neighbourhood and taking them to the farmer in a wheel barrow. He would feed his pigs this “pigswill.” Or we would roam around looking for bits of scrap metal which we would sell to the Ironmonger for a few pennies. We looked forward to the bakers van coming round because we could buy a large finger bun with a strip of icing and a sprinkle of coconut for a farthing.(quarter of a penny)

My Grandparents lived in Dover so I got to go to the seaside quite often, though there was no sand to speak of, as the beach is all pebbles, some quite large. I was often treated to a paper bag of winkles at the beach. (small sea snails) They were cooked of course and you dug them out of their shell with a pin. My other grandparents lived in Scotland and we would travel there by train every year. They were pretty scary to be honest but I had lots of cousins to play with. One year my family went to France and Italy for a holiday. I don’t remember much about that. I do remember the border guards coming on the coach with their guns at the Italian border. (I think they were just checking passports)

When I was eleven my family emigrated to Australia. We sailed from South Hampton docks. (Where the Titanic sailed from) It was February 1962 and it was snowing. There was also thin layer of ice on the water too. I remember that.

 have never liked my own sex much and from early childhood rig up to the present, most of my friends have been of the fairer sex. I was sad to leave one particular girl behind (she was about eight at the time, I was eleven) here name was Caroline. Funny thing is, eight years later I went on a blind date (as a favour to my sister) My date turned out to be the Caroline I had left behind in England! True!! We dated for a little while but it didn’t come to anything.

I have now been in Australia for 50 years and have never returned to the “old country.” I have been married twice, to the second wife for 27 years (so far!) I have two sons,one step son and three grand kids. They are now successful young adults and visit us often.My second wife and I have also raised two foster daughters (sisters) Some years ago I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis, not a very aggressive form but it is making inroads and I am now on an invalid support pension. I can still walk, though my balance is a bit shaky. Still, I have plenty of time for my family and my writing now, so it is all good.

It has been said that each day of life is a gift from God. That is why it is called the present. Might sound like a corny play on words but it is a truism and we should be grateful for what he have.










Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I enjoy writing short stories. It is my hobby I suppose. I am a high School dropout and spent most of my working life employed in menial labor. My choice. I never wanted to be anything but a writer. But hey, what chance has a manual laborer got? I married and kids came along,time passed and it was too late anyway. I got sick (Multiple Sclerosis) and had to leave the work force. That is when I decided to write my little stories. They are not brilliant but they are fun to write. I get enjoyment anyway. Some of my readers say I am talented. I don't know about that,I just like to write. I have never submitted anything to a publisher. (apart from two poems that earned me the princely sum of $15 for the pair.(Back in 1980) If I were to receive payment for my work it would screw my pension. And then there is tax. All too hard. In fact,while not rich by any means,I really don't need the money. Writing,creating (even nonsense) brings me pleasure and knowing some actually read my scribbles brings me satisfaction. I am a happy chappy all up. Yes, the fact is that here I have broken my own rule regarding the word I. It has been used way too many times.Tut,Tut! There will be regular comments here in my blog. Just little trivialities mostly. Come and look now and then,as well as reading my stories. It is all free you know.

    Sincerely, Enigma

    Archives

    July 2012

    Categories

    All